UKGE LIMITED
Company number 04923410 · Monitor this company
This analysis was written by an AI from the company's public filings. It may contain errors or omissions and is not financial or professional advice.
Investment Risk Analysis: UKGE LIMITED (04923410)
1. Risk Rating: HIGH
The company is trading with negative net assets of approximately (£29,772) as at 31 March 2025, meaning total liabilities exceed total assets. This constitutes balance-sheet insolvency. While the company has been operational for over 20 years and the deficit has narrowed year-on-year, the persistent negative equity position over multiple years, combined with negative working capital and minimal disclosure under micro-entity filing rules, presents elevated solvency risk for any investor or creditor.
2. Key Concerns
i. Balance Sheet Insolvency
The most recent filed accounts clearly show total net assets (liabilities) of (£29,772) for FY2025, an improvement from (£45,843) in FY2024 but still deeply negative. The company's creditors (£323,097) significantly exceed its total assets (£293,325). Under UK insolvency law, directors must be confident of ongoing solvency to continue trading; the basis for this confidence is not disclosed in micro-entity accounts.
ii. Negative Working Capital
Current assets of £277,674 against current liabilities of £323,097 produce a working capital deficit of (£45,423). The company cannot cover its short-term obligations from current assets alone. This signals potential cash flow stress and reliance on creditor forbearance, rolling credit terms, or director support to maintain operations.
iii. Extremely Limited Financial Disclosure
As a micro-entity, UKGE Limited files only a balance sheet with minimal notes. There is no profit & loss account, no cash flow statement, and no directors' strategic report publicly available. This makes it impossible to assess revenue trends, profitability, gross margins, or cash generation from filed documents. The company is also audit-exempt, meaning there is no independent verification of the figures presented.
3. Positive Indicators
- Longevity: Incorporated in October 2003, the company has operated continuously for over 20 years, suggesting an established market position in its niche (retail/wholesale of rocks, fossils, and earth science materials).
- Improving Trajectory: The negative equity position has narrowed from (£45,843) to (£29,772) year-on-year, and current assets grew by approximately £62,000 (from £215,256 to £277,674), suggesting possible revenue growth or inventory build-up.
- Filing Compliance: Both annual accounts and confirmation statements are up to date with no overdue filings. The accounts for FY2025 were approved and signed on 24 November 2025, within statutory deadlines.
- Stable Headcount: The company maintains a consistent 9 employees across both reported years, indicating operational continuity.
- No Director Disqualifications: Neither name shown to subscribers nor name shown to subscribers appears to have disqualification records, and both have been long-serving officers.
- Clear Ownership Structure: Two PSCs, each holding between 25–50% of shares, with equal voting rights and director appointment authority. The structure is transparent and uncomplicated.
4. Due Diligence Notes
The following items warrant further investigation before any investment or credit decision:
-
Director Loans / Intercompany Balances: Given the negative equity, it is highly likely that director loans or related-party balances are sustaining the business. The breakdown of the £323,097 in current liabilities is not disclosed. Determine how much is trade creditor debt versus director loans, HMRC liabilities, or bank borrowings.
-
Profitability and Cash Flow: Request management accounts covering at least the trailing 12 months. Micro-entity filing obscures whether the company is genuinely profitable or merely slowing the erosion of equity. The improvement in net assets suggests possible profitability, but this cannot be confirmed from filed data.
-
Creditor Position and Trade Terms: Assess whether key suppliers are aware of the balance sheet position and whether credit terms are tightening. A sudden withdrawal of trade credit could create an immediate liquidity crisis given the working capital deficit.
-
HMRC Status: Confirm there are no outstanding VAT, PAYE, or Corporation Tax liabilities. HMRC is frequently the largest unsecured creditor in small company insolvencies and can trigger winding-up proceedings.
-
Stock Composition: With current assets of £277,674 and fixed assets of only £15,651, the bulk of current assets is likely inventory and/or trade debtors. Assess stock turnover, obsolescence risk (particularly relevant for a specialty retailer of fossils and earth science materials), and debtor aging.
-
Fixed Assets: Clarify what the £15,651 in fixed assets comprises (equipment, vehicles, freehold/leasehold property). If these are tangible assets with resale value, they provide a modest buffer. If they are intangible or fully depreciated, the real asset coverage is weaker than it appears.
-
Contingent Liabilities: Check for any county court judgments (CCJs), pending litigation, or personal guarantees provided by directors that are not reflected on the balance sheet.
-
Historical Negative Equity Timeline: The financial history data suggests the company may have experienced negative equity in prior years (notably 2016), recovered to positive equity around 2017–2022, and returned to negative equity by 2023. This pattern of oscillation around the zero-equity threshold warrants investigation into what drives these swings.