RRADAR LIMITED
Company number 07738271 · Monitor this company
This analysis was written by an AI from the company's public filings. It may contain errors or omissions and is not financial or professional advice.
Credit Analysis: RRADAR LIMITED
1. Credit Opinion: CONDITIONAL
Rationale: RRADAR demonstrates several positive credit indicators—consistent revenue growth, retained earnings accumulation, and a disciplined decision to suspend dividends in FY2022 to preserve cash during an investment phase. However, the 64% decline in operating profit warrants scrutiny, and the filed accounts (FY2022) are now significantly dated. A conditional approval is appropriate pending receipt of more recent financial statements and clarification of the investment programme's expected returns. Any facility should incorporate appropriate covenants around profitability thresholds and cash flow coverage.
2. Financial Strength
Equity Position: - Total equity increased from £4,384,240 to £5,480,680 (+25%), driven entirely by profit retention - No dividend paid in FY2022 (vs. £950,000 in FY2021), indicating deliberate cash preservation - Share capital remains nominal at £2,000, with the balance comprising share premium and accumulated profits
Profitability Trajectory: | Metric | FY2022 | FY2021 | Change | |--------|--------|--------|--------| | Revenue | £13,002,422 | £12,161,024 | +7% | | Profit after tax | £1,096,440 | £2,258,509 | -51% | | Operating profit | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | -64% (per strategic report) |
The margin compression is material—profit after tax fell by over £1.16M despite revenue growing by £841K. Management attributes this to investment in a bespoke digital platform and quote-and-bind sales system, positioning this as strategic rather than structural. The narrative is plausible for a law firm seeking to differentiate through technology, but the scale of margin erosion requires verification that the investment thesis is delivering.
Balance Sheet Concerns: - The accounts text references intangible assets including goodwill, copyrights/trademarks, and computer software—suggesting acquisition activity and capitalised development costs - No full balance sheet figures are available from the extracted data, limiting assessment of gearing, working capital, and asset quality - The company has both current and non-current financial instruments (debt), but quantum and terms are not discernible from the truncated filing
Regulatory Standing: - Regulated by the Solicitors Regulation Authority (SRA), which imposes ongoing compliance requirements and effectively bars certain types of misconduct - SRA regulation provides a degree of governance comfort but does not eliminate credit risk
3. Cash Flow Assessment
Positive Indicators: - Dividend suspension in FY2022 retains approximately £950K compared to prior year behaviour - Revenue is predominantly from the financial services sector, which management characterises as low credit risk—this should support debtor quality and cash conversion - Trade debtors and WIP days are reported as monitored monthly
Concerns: - Without a cash flow statement or detailed balance sheet, it is impossible to assess operating cash conversion, working capital movements, or free cash flow - The existence of both current and non-current financial instruments indicates borrowing; the servicing requirements and maturity profile are unknown - The significant investment in digital infrastructure may have been funded partly through debt, creating future servicing obligations - The company banks with Santander UK PLC—no indication of existing facility arrangements or security positions
Working Capital: Unable to calculate the current ratio or working capital position from available data. The absence of current asset/current liability figures is a material gap for credit assessment.
4. Monitoring Points
| Metric | Action Required | Priority |
|---|---|---|
| FY2023/FY2024 Accounts | Obtain and review—accounts are significantly dated (FY2022 filed). The Companies House record suggests a 31 December 2025 year-end may now be in preparation | Critical |
| Operating Profit Margin | Track whether the digital investment is delivering margin recovery; FY2022 margin of ~8.4% (PAT/revenue) vs FY2021 at ~18.6% needs to improve | High |
| Debt Structure | Obtain details of financial instruments—quantum, maturity, covenants, and security | High |
| Working Capital Position | Request management accounts showing current ratio, debtor days, and cash balances | High |
| Related Party Transactions | Two corporate PSCs (Rradar Holdings Ltd and Voleric Ltd) control 75-100% of shares; understand intercompany flows and any upstream obligations | Medium |
| Director Changes | Geoffrey Costerton Gouriet resigned as director in July 2026—assess whether this signals governance or strategic changes | Medium |
| SRA Compliance | Verify ongoing regulatory standing; any SRA intervention would materially impact business viability | Medium |
| Client Concentration | Revenue from financial services sector is noted as low risk for debt recovery, but concentration risk should be quantified | Low |
Additional Observations
Corporate Structure: The company is majority-owned by two corporate entities—Rradar (Holdings) Limited (25-50%) and Voleric Limited (50-75%). This structure may facilitate group-level financing arrangements but also introduces potential for intercompany obligations that could rank ahead of external creditors.
Filing Compliance: Accounts and confirmation statements are up to date with no overdue filings, suggesting adequate administrative governance.
Auditor: Armstrong Watson Audit Limited provides an unqualified audit opinion with no emphasis of matter or going concern qualifications noted.