GOPAK LIMITED

Company number 00536385 ·

Active

This analysis was written by an AI from the company's public filings. It may contain errors or omissions and is not financial or professional advice.

Risk Assessment: GOPAK LIMITED

1. Risk Rating: MEDIUM

Justification: While the company demonstrates a strong net asset position and long operational history, the dramatic deterioration in cash reserves and the significant increase in intercompany receivables raise material concerns about liquidity management and potential cash extraction from the operating entity.


2. Key Concerns

Concern 1: Severe Cash Deterioration

Cash at bank has fallen from £1,434,159 (2023) to £258,196 (2024) — an 82% decline year-on-year. This is the most immediate red flag in the accounts. For a manufacturing business with 36 employees, £258k represents a worryingly thin liquidity buffer, particularly given the working capital requirements inherent in furniture manufacturing (raw materials, stock, payroll).

Concern 2: Intercompany Receivables Surge

Amounts owed by group undertakings increased from £30,000 to £1,530,400 — a fifty-fold increase. This single line item appears to explain the majority of the cash outflow. The company has effectively transferred its cash reserves to related entities within the Willowbrook group. The recoverability and terms of this intercompany balance are not disclosed, and there is no indication of security or repayment terms. This represents a significant concentration risk and raises questions about whether the operating subsidiary is being used as a cash conduit for the wider group.

Concern 3: Rising Current Liabilities with Declining Liquidity

Current liabilities increased by approximately 40% (from £527,311 to £740,281) during the same period that cash declined by 82%. The current ratio, while still appearing healthy at approximately 3.8:1, is materially distorted by the £1.53M intercompany receivable. If this intercompany balance were impaired or slow to recover, the true liquidity position would be significantly weaker than headline figures suggest.


3. Positive Indicators

  • Strong Net Asset Base: Net assets of £5.3M and shareholders' funds growing consistently (from £3.6M in 2020 to £5.3M in 2024), indicating accumulated profitability and financial resilience on paper.

  • Long-Established Business: Incorporated in 1954 with 70+ years of trading history, suggesting operational durability and market longevity in the furniture manufacturing sector.

  • Property Asset Backing: Freehold property valued at £2,810,000 (revalued April 2023 by Stafford Perkins), providing substantial tangible asset backing and potential collateral value.

  • Compliant Filing Record: Accounts and confirmation statements are up to date with no overdue filings. The company is operating within the small companies' regime appropriately.

  • Declining Long-Term Liabilities: Creditors due after more than one year reduced from £134,004 to £9,803, indicating de-leveraging on the long-term debt front.

  • Profitability Indicators: P&L reserve has grown from £3,587,642 to £3,663,850, confirming the company generated a profit in the year despite the cash challenges.


4. Due Diligence Notes

Priority Investigation Items:

  1. Intercompany Agreement Terms: The nature, terms, repayment schedule, and security (if any) for the £1.53M owed by group undertakings must be examined. Is this an interest-bearing loan? Is there a repayment date? Can the parent entity (Willowbrook (Education) Limited) service this obligation?

  2. Willowbrook (Education) Limited Financial Health: As the entity owning >75% of shares and apparently the recipient of substantial intercompany funding, the financial position of Willowbrook is critical to understanding whether this receivable is recoverable.

  3. Cash Flow Statement: The filed accounts are filleted (small company regime), meaning no cash flow statement is available. A full understanding of where £1.17M of cash went — and whether it was operational or related to intercompany transfers — requires requesting management accounts or a cash flow reconciliation.

  4. Employee Reduction: Headcount fell from 39 to 36. Clarification on whether this reflects natural attrition, restructuring, or cost reduction measures would inform the operational outlook.

  5. Trade Debtors Trend: Trade debtors increased modestly from £349,621 to £394,340. Given the turnover figure is not disclosed for 2024, debtor days cannot be calculated. Management accounts should be reviewed to assess whether collections are deteriorating.

  6. Stock Levels: Stocks increased marginally from £612,112 to £615,617. For a manufacturer, stock composition (raw materials vs. finished goods) and age profile should be examined for obsolescence risk.

  7. Director Occupations: Several directors list occupations unconnected to the business (Marine Solicitor, Shopkeeper, Housewife), which may indicate family/shareholder representation on the board rather than operational management. The governance implications of this board composition should be considered.

  8. Provisions: The £86,569 provision should be investigated — its nature is not disclosed in the filleted accounts but could relate to employee obligations, warranties, or other liabilities.


Perspective: Investment Risk Assessor · Model: glm-5.1 · Generated 3 August 2026