CALTECH LIFTS LIMITED
Company number SC256589 · Monitor this company
This analysis was written by an AI from the company's public filings. It may contain errors or omissions and is not financial or professional advice.
CALTECH LIFTS LIMITED (SC256589) — Investment Risk Analysis
1. Risk Rating: LOW
Caltech Lifts Limited presents as a financially stable, long-established business with a decade of uninterrupted balance sheet strengthening. Net assets have grown every year from £286k (2017) to £995k (2025), liquidity is comfortable (net current assets of £855k; current ratio ~2.4x), and there are no filing, insolvency, or director conduct issues on record. The rating is tempered only by the limited public financial disclosure typical of small companies — accounts are unaudited and the profit and loss account has been withheld from the public filing.
2. Key Concerns
a) Debtor concentration and working capital intensity Debtors of £937,193 represent approximately 51% of total assets. For a lift installation and maintenance business this likely includes contract debtors and retentions, but the ageing profile, customer concentration, and recoverability are not visible. Positively, the balance reduced from £1,070,880 in 2024, suggesting collections are functioning — but this remains the single largest risk exposure on the balance sheet.
b) Limited financial transparency The company claims small company audit exemption (s477 Companies Act 2006) and has elected not to file a profit and loss account. The accountants (Findlays, Dundee) prepared but expressly did not audit or review the statements. Profitability can only be inferred from reserve movements (+£161k in FY2025; +£99k in FY2024; +£354k in FY2023, all net of any dividends). Turnover, margins, and cost structure are unverifiable from public data.
c) Family-concentrated governance and undisclosed provisions Four of five directors are members of the name shown to subscribers family, with a single PSC (name shown to subscribers, 25–50%). The remaining shareholding structure is not disclosed. Provisions for liabilities of £93,101 and long-term creditors of £142,240 are not explained in the available filing extract — these warrant clarification, though both are modest relative to net assets.
3. Positive Indicators
- Sustained equity growth: Shareholders' funds have increased every year for ten consecutive years, more than tripling over the period — consistent with habitual profitability and retained earnings discipline.
- Strong liquidity: Net current assets of £855,182; cash of £241,873 with no overdraft evident in any year reviewed. Cash has remained above £150k throughout the decade.
- Manageable leverage: Total liabilities of £620k (current) plus £142k (long-term) against £1.85m of assets; long-term creditors are being amortised down (£183k → £142k year-on-year).
- Clean compliance record: Accounts and confirmation statements current, nothing overdue, no liquidation/administration markers, no director disqualifications identified.
- Operational longevity: Trading since 2003 (22 years) through multiple economic cycles, including a strong FY2023 in which net assets nearly doubled — indicating capacity to scale. Active website and coherent SIC classifications support a genuine, ongoing operation.
4. Due Diligence Notes
- Obtain management accounts / full P&L for FY2023–FY2025 to verify turnover, gross margin, and the composition of the exceptional FY2023 result.
- Debtor schedule: Request an aged debtor analysis, details of contract retentions, and top-five customer concentration.
- Nature of provisions (£93,101) — likely warranty-related for lift installations, but confirm; also confirm the terms and security attached to the £142,240 long-term creditor balance.
- Shareholding structure: Only one PSC is registered at 25–50%; confirm allocation of the remaining shares and any shareholders' agreements, particularly given family control and succession considerations.
- Related-party transactions: Review any director loans, dividends, or transactions with connected entities (not disclosed in the filleted accounts).
- Order book and contract pipeline: Given the working-capital-intensive contract model, forward revenue visibility is the key determinant of continued stability.
- Cash movement reconciliation: Cash fell from £355k (2023) to £218k (2024) before partial recovery — confirm this reflected working capital absorption rather than distributions or capex strain.